My Rough Journey into The World of Endless Possibilities

After being forced into studying Agricultural science for five years by my Father, I found myself stuck after my Service year, I got a sales representative job at one of these popular shopping malls, but I just wasn't enjoying my job, it became frustrating as time went on and there were times when I just wanted to walk into the mall and tender my resignation letter, haha. I couldn't apply for jobs that weren't related to what I studied in school and I didn't see myself working in a farm either, nah! So I thought to myself one afternoon-"why don't you learn to code, it can't be worse than what you're doing currently", then immediately, I snapped out of it cos I always thought software development would be very difficult for me to handle since I didn't have a computer science degree.

Well, as time went on and after watching so many YouTube videos on "how self-taught programmers did the impossible even without a computer science degree", I decided it was time to seize my moment and find a way to learn to code. Initially, I didn't know where to start, so I went back to YouTube and watched some more videos, then I had a pathway I could follow, I learnt HTML first, and it was easy and pretty interesting since I had a basic idea of it before then. Thereafter, I moved on to CSS, and that was where I drew the curtains, it was so overwhelming, I had to know so much and the curriculum was so wide, I just felt giving up was the best way to go.

“Java is to JavaScript what car is to Carpet.” – Chris Heilmann

However, this past year, a few of my peers who had come from computer science backgrounds mentioned it was really helpful knowing how to code. I then picked up a JavaScript book (out of curiosity) and started teaching myself how to code for a few hours on the side with the goal of learning full stack development. I practised many challenges, and then I decided to enrolled in the Side Hustle Programme which has pushed me into coding and practising at least 4 hours each and every day cos the programme is fast-paced, so I have no choice than to keep up.

“ Code is like humor. When you have to explain it, it’s bad.” – Cory House

Fast-forward to present day, the 6th day of the month of July, year 2021, I'm kinda late on my second Side hustle task, haha, the first task was a breeze, but this particular task has been a thorn in the a** for me so far. At long last, I can finally say I'm done with the task, and I'm excited to share the link to it wackyrichy.netlify.app, feel free to criticize, thanks for your time. Cheers!!!